Lenten meditations by the Franciscan Mystery Players

Groups of high school students from local parishes have come together as the Franciscan Mystery Players. They have spent weeks preparing the Lenten Season meditations “The Way of Cross” and “Jesus the Healer.”

The plays were written by Francis Pompei, a Franciscan Friar of the Holy Name Province, who is based in Buffalo, N.Y. Currently, there are 12 groups of Mystery Players in the United States, including four in New Jersey.

“The Way of the Cross” is presented by youth from Holy Family Parish, Sewell, and directed by Peter Lynch. The schedule follows:

Friday March 2, 7 p.m., Our Lady of The Angels, Cape May Courthouse

Sunday March 4, 7 p.m., Assumption Parish, Galloway Twp

Friday March 9, 7 p.m., Our Lady of Lourdes (Mary Mother of Mercy), Glassboro

Sunday March 11, 7:30 p.m., Holy Spirit Parish, Philadelphia

Friday March 16, 7:30 p.m., St. Paul‘s, Norristown, Pa.

Sunday March 18, 7:30 p.m. – OPEN DATE

Friday March 23, 7:30 p.m. at St. Francis of Assisi in Springfield, Pa.

Sunday March 25, 7:30 p.m. – OPEN DATE

Friday March 30, 7:30 p.m. at Infant Jesus (St. Margaret’s) in Woodbury Heights

Sunday April 1, 7:30 p.m. at Church of The Holy Family in Sewell

“Jesus the Healer” is presented by a group based in Our Lady of Hope Parish, Blackwood, and directed by Lori and John Huhn. The schedule follows:

Friday, March 2, 7:30 p.m., Emmaus Catholic Community (Sacred Heart), Mt. Ephraim

Sunday, March 11, 7 p.m., St. Patrick Church, Kennett Square, Pa.

Sunday, March 18, 7 p.m., St. Peter and Paul Church, Turnersville

Friday, March 23, 8 p.m., St. Gabriel the Archangel (Corpus Christi) Carneys Point

Sunday, March 25, 7 p.m., St. Stephen Parish, Pennsauken

Saturday, March 31, 8 p.m., Our Lady of Hope ( St. Agnes), Blackwood

About Author