Scholarship bill referred to assembly Education Committee


The assembly version of a bill that would create the opportunity for disadvantaged children in failing schools to attend a school of their parents’ choice has now been referred to the Education Committee of the New Jersey Assembly.

A-2810, The Opportunity Scholarship Act, was introduced in the Assembly by sponsor Angel Fuentes (D-5).

The Senate bill, S-1872, which is sponsored by Senator Raymond Lesniak (D-20) is now before the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee. The Senate Economic Growth Committee on May 13, 2010 unanimously approved S-1872 in a 6-0 vote.

The New Jersey Catholic Conference has urged the public to contact members Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee and the Assembly Education Committee expressing support for S-1872/A-2810.

Two members of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee are from districts within the Diocese of Camden:

The Honorable Jeff Van Drew (D)

21 N. Main St.

Cape May Court House, NJ 08210

(609) 465-0700

FAX: (609) 465-4578

The Honorable James Beach (D)

1916 Route 70 East, Suite 3

Cherry Hill, NJ 08003

(856) 489-3442

FAX: (856) 489-4180

There are no South Jersey legislators serving on the Assembly’s Education Committee. However, parishioners in South Jersey are urged to contact local assembly members to urge their fellow legislators on the Education Committee to move the legislation forward.

Legislators also may be contacted through the New Jersey Catholic Conference’s “Capwiz” system at

For a full list of South Jersey legislators, and for more about the Opportunity Scholarship Act, see