Prep students recognized


The Advanced Placement Program (AP) of the College Board announced that 14 students at St. Augustine Preparatory School in Richland have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams. Several levels of achievement were recognized.

Rupak Bhuyan, Jacob Brady, Kurt Ostrow, and Glenn Russo merited the AP Scholar with Distinction Award for earning an average grade of at least 3.5 (of 5) on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Dean Wetty was designated an AP Scholar with Honor for earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and a grade of 3 or higher on at least four AP exams.

Elliot Cintron, Dominic Deal, David Hopkins, Max Kiejdan, Brandon Lawrence, Micah Milner, Nicholas Moffa, Spenser Stark, and Christopher Vandenberg were named AP Scholars for achieving a grade of 3 or higher on at least five AP exams.

(Nicholas Moffa is currently a senior at St. Augustine. The other students are graduates of the Class of 2009.)

The Advanced Placement Program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credits, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. About 18 percent of the nearly 1.7 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

St. Augustine Prep offers certified AP courses in 14 subject areas.