Holy Spirit Hall holds Hall of Fame induction ceremony


Holy Spirit High School in Absecon is hosting its fifth Annual Salute to the Spartans Bash Feb. 28 at the Golden Nugget Hotel Casino in Atlantic City.
The 2013 Holy Spirit Hall of Fame inductees include Andy Solari ’61, Michelle Malkin ’88, and the championship 1976 boys crew team, with legendary coach Stan Bergman.
Andy Solari, mayor of Brigantine, was a teacher and coach at Holy Spirit from 1966-69, and assistant football coach and co-head track coach. He is the chairman of the Brian Woods Memorial Scholarship Fund that provides scholarships for students attending Catholic high school.
He is also the founder of “Water for Uganda,” a nonprofit that drills wells in Uganda to enable clean and safe drinking water, and is a past Grand Knight of the Knights of Columbus Council 7020, St. Thomas, Brigantine.
Michelle Malkin is a New York Times best selling author, nationally syndicated newspaper columnist, journalist (Los Angeles Daily News and the Seattle Times), and political commentator and contributer to the Fox News Channel. At Holy Spirit High School, she was editor of the Spirit student newspaper; a concert pianist; and valedictorian of her graduating class.
The 1976 varsity 8 boys crew team, made up of Tim Maguire ’77, Steve Brown ’76, Bob White ’77, Joe Welsh ’77, Phil Guenther ’76, Blair Foerster ’76, Joe Bibik ’76, Jim Millar ’76, and Tom McDevitt ’76, was the only Holy Spirit boat to be unbeaten in unofficial races, regular season races and championship regattas. The team received a Key to Atlantic City and was featured on ABC’s Wide World of Sports.
Proceeds from the event benefit Holy Spirit High School students.